Introduction

Hello everyone – welcome to my blog.

I’ve set up this blog to publish a few of my murals and explain some of the processes involved and some of the thoughts behind them. Well, at least that’s the idea – I’ll just have to see where this takes me. It will probably be like a painting in itself and take on a life of it’s own…

Ok, I’ll tell you a bit about myself first:

I was born in Stoke, England and brought up in Derbyshire. I left school with an interest in both the sciences and art. I studied at art college for 6 years, leaving finally with a degree in graphic design. In hindsight, I guess I should have studied fine art, but my graphics training has probably given me a commercial leaning and a tendency to tailor my style to each individual brief. I worked as a pavement artist for the last two years of college and carried this on after graduating for another five. This was great fun, it allowed me to travel and earn a surprising amount of money.

Painting on the street around 1995

This seemed to lead on quite naturally to painting murals and trompe l’oeil. I tend to work very hard at what I do and always try to raise the game with the quality. I get wrapped up in each project (much to the annoyance of my family now) but still love the work. Each job brings new challenges and no matter how far you get there is always so much more to learn. I’ve always believed that when you think you can’t learn any more it’s time to put your brushes down.

Mel

My mural website

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

